Rhianna's Ripping Rampage
come and see what's happening in Mr. Mcguire's class

D.A.R.E Essay

The whole 6th grade has been in D.A.R.E. and it has been a lot of fun. I hope you enjoy my post for the D.A.R.E. graduation.

I have really enjoyed D.A.R.E. It has been a lot of fun and it teaches you what drugs are like and a lot of ways to say “NO!” to drugs. At the start of the D.A.R.E.  program I didn’t think that this was going to be all that educational and it was only going to be fun and games, but it wasn’t. It really talks about what drugs can do to you and all that stuff. D.A.R.E. stands for Drug, Abuse, Resistance, Education.

In D.A.R.E. we talked about chewing tobacco. Chewing tobacco can give you the harry tongue or mouth cancer or gum disease. Lets say you chew tobacco and you go on a job interview. The boss sees your nasty, ugly teeth. How is he going to think of you? He sees that you chew. Why would he want someone that chews to work for him?

Deputy Thomas brought the Dip Lip and Smoking Susie to class and showed us how much tar goes into her lungs with just one cigarette. The Dip Lip showed us what a chewing tobacco mouth looks like (that was not pretty).

We also talked about marijuana. Marijuana can be very, very addictive. So once you start to do marijuana you probably will have trouble getting off it. Why would you still do marijuana if it is illegal in the United States? You are at big risk if you chose to do marijuana because you might get caught and go to jail…is it really worth it?

I have a lot of goals to achieve next year from now or ten years from now, so I don’t have time to smoke or drink or chew. Next year I would like to play softball, basketball and volleyball. I would also like to play these sports all the way through high school. I would also like to play softball in college. I have NOOOO time to do ANY silly, little drugs. If I smoke or drink or chew tobacco, my chances for being a strong, healthy softball player would be slim. I don’t need to ruin my life over some pointless drug.

I, Rhianna Lucas, pledge to never do drugs and try to keep away from any kinds of drugs (from a one cigarette to marijuana). I vow to say “NO!” to every drug that is handed to me. Here are a few ways to keep my promise:

*Say, “No thanks.”

*Give an excuse or reason

*Broken Record

*Walk Away

*Change the subject

*Avoid the situation.

*Cold shoulder.

*Strength in numbers.

These are all ways to keep me away from drugs.

http://www.brunswicksheriff.com/Home/Divisions/UniformServices/DARE/tabid/670/Default.aspx

One Response to “D.A.R.E Essay”

  1. I think this was a good program for the sixth grade. Good job on the post and reading.


Leave a Reply

