Rhianna's Ripping Rampage
come and see what's happening in Mr. Mcguire's class

How I’m Alike And Different To The Main Character

Today, in the Reading Workshop, we are talking about how you are alike, or different, than the main character in your book. I’m reading Heart Of A Champion by Carl Deuker. I really like this book, my brother recommended this book for me.

I’m alike Seth, the main character, in a lot of ways. Seth has dreams on going to the major leagues. Him and his friend, Jimmy, both want to go pro. I would love to play as a pro when I grow up. Me and my friend, Shala, both have the same dream. We want to go to college and play softball, together at the same school. I have a passion for softball. Seth is the same way. He loves the game just like I do.

Seth and I are not too different. One way we are different is that I’ve been playing softball since I was four or five years old. Seth has only been playing baseball for a couple of months now. At first he didn’t even like the sport, until Jimmy introduced him to it. My dad taught me who to play softball. Jimmy’s dad taught Seth how to play baseball. Seth doesn’t have a dad, but I do.

I think that I’m more alike Seth than I am different. I could list a whole lot more ways that I’m the same. I really like this book. If you enjoy baseball books then you would love this book.

Image from http://www.fictiondb.com/author/carl-deuker~heart-of-a-champion~273533~b.htm

2 Responses to “How I’m Alike And Different To The Main Character”

  1. I really want to read this book. Can I read it when you are finished?

    • I wish you could read the copy I’m reading but it belongs to Logan Elm High School. You might want to see if there is an extra copy at the library. This author is really good with sport books. Right now I’m reading Gym Candy by Carl Deuker. It’s a great book too.


Leave a Reply

